2021 Prize Winners

Members of the Faculty recently named Harvard College Professors, in recognition of their distinguished contributions to undergraduate teaching — in general education and within the concentrations, and in advising and mentoring students — as well as work in graduate education and research:

  • Stephen Chong, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Sean Kelly, Department of Philosophy
  • Deidre Lynch, Department of English
  • Andrew Murray, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Leah Somerville, Department of Psychology

Winners of the Roslyn Abramson Award for outstanding undergraduate teaching, chosen on their ability to communicate with and inspire undergraduates, their accessibility to undergraduates, their sensitivity to undergraduates’ needs, and their devotion to teaching:

  • Demba Ba, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Robin Hopkins, Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

Winners of the Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Award, established by the GSAS Graduate Student Council to honor faculty who go out of their way to offer support and guidance to graduate students’ research, education, professional and personal development, and career plans:

  • Robin Bernstein, Department of African and African American Studies and Committee on Degrees in Studies of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
  • Sheila Jasanoff, Harvard Kennedy School
  • Erica Kenney, Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
  • Hannah Marcus, Department of the History of Science
  • Christopher Rycroft, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Winners of the Phi Beta Kappa Alpha-Iota Prize for Excellence in Teaching, nominated by undergraduate members of the Chapter, for teaching excellence: 

  • Ali Asani, Murray A. Albertson Professor of Middle Eastern Studies and Professor of Indo-Muslim and Islamic Religion and Cultures
  • Manja Klemenčič, Lecturer in Sociology
  • Logan McCarty, Director of Science Education

Winners of the Walter Channing Cabot Fellowships, given annually to select faculty colleagues in recognition of their achievements and scholarly eminence in the fields of “literature, history or art, as such terms may be liberally interpreted,” are:

  • Rosie Bsheer, Department of History
  • David Damrosch, Department of Comparative Literature
  • Alice Jardine, Department of Romance Languages and Literatures, Committee on Degrees in Studies of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
  • David Joselit, Department of Art, Film, and Visual Studies
  • Jill Lepore, Department of History
  • Durba Mitra, Committee on Degrees in Studies of Women, Gender, and Sexuality
  • David Pedulla, Department of Sociology
  • Michael Sandel, Department of Government 
  • Namwali Serpell, Department of English
  • David Der-wei Wang, Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations
  • James Wood, Department of English