Harvard Shield

Department of Philosophy

Harvard University

    Harvard.edu | FAS | GSAS | HCL
Home | News & Events | Links | Site Map | Contact


Faculty of the Department

Professor Warren Goldfarb Professor
Warren Goldfarb
Walter Beverly Pearson Professor of Modern Mathematics and Mathematical Logic

Head Tutor
Emerson 301 617-495-9512
Warren Goldfarb, W. B. Pearson Professor of Modern Mathematics and Mathematical Logic, received his A.B. and Ph.D. from Harvard and has been on the faculty since 1975. His teaching and research interests center on mathematical logic, on the development of analytic philosophy, particularly Frege, Russell, Carnap, Quine, and Wittgenstein (early and late), and on the interrelationships of logic and philosophy and the issues in metaphysics and philosophical logic that are at the heart of the analytic tradition.

He edited Jacques Herbrand's Logical Writings (1971), co-authored (with Burton Dreben) The Decision Problem: Solvable Classes of Quantificational Formulas (1979), and co-edited Kurt Gödel's Collected Works, vol. III (1995), vols. IV-V (2003). His textbook, Deductive Logic, was published in 2003.

Among his principal papers are "Logic in the Twenties: the Nature of the Quantifier" (1979), "The Undecidability of the Gödel Class with Identity" (1984); "Poincare Against the Logicists" (1987), "Russell's Reasons for Ramification" (1988), and "Frege's Conception of Logic" (2001); "I Want You to Bring Me a Slab: Remarks on the Opening Sections of the Philosophical Investigations" (1983), "Kripke on Wittgenstein on Rules" (1985), "Wittgenstein on Understanding" (1992), and "Wittgenstein on Fixity of Meaning" (1997). Recent work includes "On Gödel's Way In: the Influence of Rudolf Carnap" (2005), "Das Uberwinden: Non-realist Readings of Wittgenstein's Tractatus" (forthcoming), and "On Dummett's 'Proof-Theoretic Justification of Logical Laws'" (forthcoming).

This site is best viewed in a Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari, or Google Chrome browser.

© 2011-2013 President and Fellows of Harvard College, Harvard University