HARVARD.EDU
  |  GSAS   |  COLLEGE   |  DIRECTORY
overview people courses labs graduate undergraduate events
People
Faculty
Faculty
Emeritus Faculty
Visiting Faculty

Staff
Department Staff
Building Services
Sponsored Research

Students
Graduate Students

Recent Degree Recipients
Ph.D. in Archaeology
Pd.D. in Biological Anthropology
Ph.D. in Social Anthropology
A.M. in Medical Anthropology

Affiliates
Department Affiliates
Other Anthropologists at Harvard




Graduate Students

Neal Akatsuka
Research Interests:
Anthropology of science, science studies, ethics, aesthetics, biotechnology, human-plant relations, queer studies, globalization, Japan, and the United States.
akatsuka@fas.harvard.edu | www.nealakatsuka.net


Bridget Alex

Research Interests: archaeological chemistry, dietary ecology, diagenesis, methods development, Paleolithic Europe.
balex@fas.harvard.edu

Marty Alexander

Research Interests: United States, the United Kingdom and South Korea; biomedical research and ethics; local laboratory practices; the production of biomedical discourses; and public understandings of science.
lalexand@ fas.harvard.edu

Karim Alizadeh
Research Interests: Iran, ancient Near East, material science, landscape.
alizadeh@fas.harvard.edu

Non Arkaraprasertkul
Research Interests: China; Shanghai; Urban anthropology, space planning
narkarap@ fas.harvard.edu

Cynthia Browne
Research Interests: Germany: art, urbanism, and riparian landscapes; industrial nature and structural change; phenomenology (Husserl, Merleau-Ponty), linguistic pragmatics.
cbrowne@fas.harvard.edu

Janis Calleja
Research Interests: North America; examining aspects of cultural change and identity in contact period prehistoric indigenous communities in Southwestern North America through theoretical perspectives involving practice, postcolonialism, and phenomenological perspectives on material culture.
jcalleja@fas.harvard.edu

Ari Caramanica
Research Interests: Peru; inter- & intra-societal boundaries, transitions and points of discord through lens of landscape archaeology.
acaraman@fas.harvard.edu

Philip Cartelli
Research Interests: Senegal; Media anthropology, political/economic anthropology
cartelli@fas.harvard.edu | http://pcartelli.com

Vivien Chung
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
vivienchung@fas.harvard.edu

Dylan Clark
Research Interests: Maya coastal and port communities, social identity and power, intercultural interaction, household archaeology, public and community archaeology, Mesoamerica.
djclark@fas.harvard.edu

Jonathan Clindaniel
Research Interests: Near East; Demographic archaeology, ancient landscapes, spatial statistical modeling.

jclindaniel@fas.harvard.edu

Lizzy Cooper-Davis

- Joint AAAS
davis5@fas.harvard.edu

Bridget Corbett Hanna
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
bhanna@fas.harvard.edu

Noa Corcoran-Tadd
Research Interests: Andes, archaeology of the early colonial period, socioeconomic transformations, mining and monetization, rethinking social-material ontologies.
ncorcorantadd@fas.harvard.edu | website

Aryo Danusiri
Research Interests: Indonesia, South East Asia; Visual Ethnography, Nexus of Borders, Fundamentalism, Mobility, Developmentalism, Humanitarianism, Decentralization.
danusiri@fas.harvard.edu

Juana Davila
Research Interests: Latin America, in particular, Colombia and Venezuela; anthropology of power, legal discourse, illegality, policy, legislative processes and bureaucracy; agrarian reform, human-land ties, the Colombian armed conflict and armed action in general, internal forced displacement, and notions of memory, reparation and justice.
jdavila@fas.harvard.edu

Namita Dharia
Research Interests: Construction Industry, South Asia, Urban Development, Political Economy, Labor and the Politics of Space.
ndharia@fas.harvard.edu

Jessica Dickson
- Joint African and African-American Studies
Research Interests: media anthropology, cinema and the film industry, post-colonial science fiction and futurism, political economy, subjectivity, race and gender, tourism, South Africa.
jessicadickson@fas.harvard.edu

Darja Djordjevic
- Joint MD/PhD
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
darja_djordjevic@hms.harvard.edu

Jeffrey Dobereiner
Research Interests: Mesoamerica; Maya archaeology, political economy, complex society formation, etc...
jdober@fas.harvard.edu

Zoe Eddy
- Joint doctorate in Social Anthropology and Archaeology
Research Interests: supernatural belief systems, ritual and religion, animal studies, food studies, gender and identity, material culture, LARPing, collaborative anthropology, historical archaeology, cross-comparative analysis; Japan, the United Kingdom, island communities.
zeddy@fas.harvard.edu

Kanishka Elupula
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
kanishkaelupula@fas.harvard.edu

Nathaniel Erb-Satullo
Research Interests: Ancient pyrotechnology (glass, metals, ceramics), social contexts of technological change, environmental impacts of pyrotechnology, materials science, Near East.
nsatullo@fas.harvard.edu

Alex Fattal
Research Interests: Demobilization of former combatants, propaganda, mass publicity, media events, Colombia, media anthropology, transnational insurgency and counterinsurgency. Newer media: Facebook, YouTube. Visual anthropology, Brazil. Iranian-American relations, international relations.
fattal@fas.harvard.edu

Roberto Flotte
Research Interests: Anthropology of water, extractive resource industries, Legal and development anthropology, indigenous peoples, Latin America, in particular, Brazil and Mexico.
rflotte@fas.harvard.edu

Max Harrison
Research Interests: Japan, agriculture, impacts of globalization, collaborative visual anthropology.
harrison01@fas.harvard.edu

Alexis Hartford
Area of Interest: Archaeology
ahartford@fas.harvard.edu

John Heintz
Research Interests: subjectivity and continuums of violence, perpetration of domestic violence, alcoholism, Colombia, urban anthropology.
john_heintz@hms.harvard.edu

Annikki Herranen
Research Interests: violence, caregiving, gender and stigma.
herranen@fas.harvard.edu

Reza Idria
Research Interests: Indonesia, the aftermath of disasters, Aceh, politics, truth and reconciliation, Sharia and cultural resistance.
rezaidria@fas.harvard.edu

Bronwyn Isaacs
Research Interests: Political Anthropology, anthropology of ethics, performances of moral and political identity, global discourses of well-being, anthropology of markets, consumption and economic anthropology, visual anthropology & film, Thailand and South-East Asia.
bronwynisaacs@fas.harvard.edu

Wing Tung Jada Ko
Research Interests: Chinese Archaeology, Western China; emergence of social hierarchies and complex societies; zooarchaeology; Media Anthropology.
wingtungjadako@fas.harvard.edu

Yitzchak Jaffe
Research Interests: China; rise & impact of the Western Zhou State on ancient landscape and population.
yitzchakjaffe@fas.harvard.edu

Abbas Jaffer
Research Interests: Pakistan; masculinity and bodily practices.
jaffer@fas.harvard.edu

Sarah Kashani
Research Interests: Japan and Korea; ethnic entrepreneurialism, race and diversity in Japan.
kashani@fas.harvard.edu

Damina Khaira
Research Interests: SouthEast Asia, Borneo; indigeneity, identity politics, heritage.
dkhaira@fas.harvard.edu

Nancy A. Khalil
Research Interests: Muslims in America (particularly the 2nd and 3rd generation); Higher Education & Student Development; Religion, Religiosity, & Spirituality; Belief; Transnationalism.
nkhalil@fas.harvard.edu

Bethany Kibler
- Joint CMES
Research Interests:
Syria; sexuality and gender, narratives of self and subjectivity.
bkibler@fas.harvard.edu

Sharon Freda Kivenko
Research Interests: West Africa, African Diaspora; Performance, material culture, and national identity.
skivenko@fas.harvard.edu

Ekin Kurtic
- Joint CMES
ekinkurtic@fas.harvard.edu

Veronika Kusumaryati
Research Interests:
Indonesia, Southeast Asia, audiovisual technologies, circulation and production of images,anthropology of knowledge/science, and political changes.
kusumaryati@fas.harvard.edu

WengCheong Lam
Area of Interest: Archaeology
wlam@fas.harvard.edu

Wirun Limsawart
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
limsawar@fas.harvard.edu

Andrew Littlejohn
Research Interests:
Japan; food studies, human-animal relationship.
andrewlittlejohn@fas.harvard.edu

Shuang Lu
Research Interests: Urban space, Cosmopolitanism, Cyberspace, Virtuality, Higher education, Shanghai, China.
shuanglu@fas.harvard.edu | website

Jared McCormick
Research Interests: Lebanon & Syria / Movement, Migration, Gender, Tourism, Nationality.
jmccorm@fas.harvard.edu | website

Andrew McDowell
Research Interests: South Asia; an anthropology of the body, intersections between phenomenology and political economy, the geographically distanced from a metropole, global public health, ideology, memory, infectious disease, and interventions.
mcdowell@fas.harvard.edu

Anna Neumann
- Joint African and African-American Studies
annaneumann@fas.harvard.edu

Anh-Thu Ngo
Research Interests: Southeast Asia, Viet Nam; urbanism, memory, identity politics, epistemologies, environment, art.
ango@fas.harvard.edu

Chiaki Nishijima
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
cnishij@fas.harvard.edu

Lisanne Norman
- Joint AAAS
Research Interests: United States, Nigeria, and Cuba; African-American practice of Yoruba religion from 1959 to present and the transnational cultural and religious exchanges that have taken place between the US, Cuba, and Nigeria.
lnorman918@gmail [dot] com

Andrew Ong
Research Interests:
SW China; Subjectivity and Selfhood, Affect and Experience.
aong@fas.harvard.edu

Federico Perez
Research Interests: Latin America (Colombia and Brazil), cities and citizenship, urban policy and planning, space, neoliberalism, development, technocracy and expertise.
perez2@fas.harvard.edu

Tilsa Ponce
Research Interests: Peru; contemporary subjectivity, immigration from rural to urban areas.
tponce@fas.harvard.edu

Vipas Prachyaporn
Research Interests: Southeast Asia, Laos; Artisanship, personhood, nationalism, post-socialist economic, material culture.
vprachy@fas.harvard.edu

Devaka Premawardhana
- Joint Religious Studies (Ad Hoc)
Research Interests: Pentecostal and indigenous religion, rationality debates, hope and the imagination, rural-urban migration, Mozambique.
premawar@fas.harvard.edu

Max Price
Research Interests: Near East; Zooarchaeology, processes of domestication and how it reflected and created social and cultural structures.
maxprice@fas.harvard.edu

Eric Reinhart
Research Interests: Urban and medical anthropology.
reinhar@fas.harvard.edu

Meghan Rogushka
Research Interests: Political Economy, financial readjustment/austerity, media anthropology, Greece, Europe.
mroguschka@fas.harvard.edu

Kate Rose
Research Interests: Urbanism and settlement design in Ancient Egypt and Near East, spatial analysis, domestic ritual practice versus state religious ideology.
katherinerose@fas.harvard.edu

Esra Gokce Sahin
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
egsahin@fas.harvard.edu

Jasmine Samara
Research Interests: Greece; Greek Muslims, human rights, law, religion and the state, minorities, gender.
jlsamara@yahoo.com

Lauren Santini
Research Interests: Maya, settlement patterns, GIS, remote sensing.
lmsantin@fas.harvard.edu

Benjamin Shaffer
Research Interests:
China; media, art communities.
benny.shaffer@gmail.com

Jason Silverstein
Research Interests:
Science, race, and society in the United States and cyberspace.
jbs351[at] mail.harvard.edu | website

Stephanie Spray
Research Interests: Nepal; film and video, phenomenology, anthropology of religion, gender and sexuality, art and performance, media anthropology.
sspray@fas.harvard.edu

Adam Stack
Research Interests: Incan politics and cosmology, Andes, urbanism and cultural change, settlement patterns, colonial archaeology.
stack@fas.harvard.edu

Nicolas Sternsdorff Cisterna

Research Interests: Japan; Environmental politics, food culture, political economy.
nsternsd@fas.harvard.edu

Kimberly Sue
- MD/PhD student
Research Interests: US, South Africa; medical anthropology, prisons, addiction/drug treatment, urban anthropology, discourses on crime and punishment, politics of health, structural violence.
kimberly_sue@hms.harvard.edu

Nawa Sugiyama
Research Interests: Ceremonial contexts, faunal collection from Pyramid of Moon; material remains.
nsugiyam@fas.harvard.edu

Rachel Thompson
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
rthompson@fas.harvard.edu

Anand Vaidya
Research Interests: India; anthropology of the state; political ecology; legal anthropology; expertise.
avaidya@fas.harvard.edu

Bastien Varoutsikos
Research Interests: Near Eastern Prehistory,Transition, Neolithic, Obsidian, Lithic Technology, Physico-chemical analysis (xrf), GIS, Process of Diffusion and Acquisition of Technology.
bvarouts@fas.harvard.edu

Sadie Weber
Research Interests: Near East and South America; human-environment interaction, specifically with regards to the acquisition, production, and consumption of food. I am particularly interested in looking at regions where plant and animal domestication occurred and the extent to which domesticates and non-domesticates were utilized. 
sweber@fas.harvard.edu

Julia Yezbick
Research Interests: visual anthropology, phenomenology, embodiment, space/place, Catholic Charismatics, emplacement, "sense" of home, experience, Italy, India, Nepal.
yezbick@fas.harvard.edu | sensatejournal.com

Aylin Yildirim-Tschoepe
- Joint CMES
Research Interests:
Migration, Informality, Home and Identity, Rapid Urbanization, Rural Development; Middle East.
ayildirim@fas.harvard.edu

Dilan Yildirim

Research Interests: Turkey; Kurdish political movements, structural violence & memory, marginality, landscape and subjectivity, politics of culture.
dyildir@fas.harvard.edu

Emrah Yildiz
- Joint CMES
Research Interests: Europe/Middle East; Turkey, Germany, Iran; Political economy, neoliberal economic restructuring, trans-nationalism.
eyildiz@fas.harvard.edu

Qingyang Yuan
Area of Interest: Social Anthropology
qyuan@fas.harvard.edu



Department of Anthropology, Peabody Museum, 11 Divinity Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA
©2012 President & Fellows of Harvard College