Directors of Graduate Studies

African and African American Studies Department
Tommie Shelby
tshelby@fas.harvard.edu

American Studies
Joyce Chaplin
chaplin@fas.harvard.edu

Anthropology Department
Mary Steedly
msteed@wjh.harvard.edu

Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning
Erica Naginski
naginski@gsd.harvard.edu

Astronomy Department
Lars Hernquist
lhernquist@cfa.harvard.edu

Biological Sciences in Dental Medicine
Yingzi Yang
Yingzi_Yang@hsdm.harvard.edu

Biological Sciences in Public Health Committee
Brendan Manning
bmanning@hsph.harvard.edu

Biology, Molecular and Cellular
Catherine Dulac
dulac@fas.harvard.edu

Biology, Organismic and Evolutionary
David Haig
dhaig@oeb.harvard.edu

Biology, Organismic and Evolutionary
Yun Zhang
yzhang@oeb.harvard.edu

Biophysics Committee
James Martin Hogle
james_hogle@hms.harvard.edu

Biostatistics
Paige Williams
paige@hsph.harvard.edu

Business Economics Committee
John Korn
jkorn@hbs.edu

Business Economics Committee
David Scharfstein
dscharfstein@hbs.edu

Celtic Languages and Literatures
Joseph F. Nagy

Chemical Biology
Daniel Kahne
kahne@chemistry.harvard.edu

Chemical Biology
Suzanne Walker
suzanne_walker@hms.harvard.edu

Chemical Physics Committee
Daniel Nocera
dnocera@fas.harvard.edu

Chemistry and Chemical Biology
Daniel Nocera
dnocera@fas.harvard.edu

Classics Department
Emma Dench
dench@fas.harvard.edu

Comparative Literature
Luis Girón-Negrón
giron@fas.harvard.edu

Earth and Planetary Sciences Department
David Johnston
djohnst@fas.harvard.edu

Earth and Planetary Sciences Department
Eli Tziperman
eli@eps.harvard.edu

East Asian Languages and Civilizations
Wai-yee Li
wyli@fas.harvard.edu

Economics Department
Gita Gopinath
gopinath@harvard.edu

Education
Jon Star
jon_star@gse.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences
Ariel Amir
arielamir@seas.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences
David Brooks
dbrooks@eecs.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences
Federico Capasso
capasso@seas.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences
Fawwaz Habbal
habbalf@seas.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences
Yue Lu
yuelu@seas.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences
Daniel Needleman
dneedle@seas.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences
Hanspeter Pfister
pfister@seas.harvard.edu

Engineering and Applied Sciences 
Daniel Weinstock
dweinsto@seas.harvard.edu

English
Daniel Donoghue
dgd@wjh.harvard.edu

Film and Visual Studies
Carrie Lambert-Beatty
lambert2@fas.harvard.edu

Forestry
David Foster
drfoster@fas.harvard.edu

Germanic Languages and Literatures
Eric Rentschler
erentsch@fas.harvard.edu

Government Department
Dustin Tingley
dtingley@gov.harvard.edu

Health Policy Committee
Sara Singer
ssinger@hsph.harvard.edu

History Department
Alison Frank Johnson
afrank@fas.harvard.edu

History of Art and Architecture
Jeffrey Hamburger
jhamburg@fas.harvard.edu

History of Science Department
Elizabeth Lunbeck
lunbeck@fas.harvard.edu

Human Evolutionary Biology
Joseph Henrich
henrich@fas.harvard.edu

Inner Asian and Altaic Studies
Kelly O'Neill
koneill@fas.harvard.edu

Inner Asian and Altaic Studies
Leonard van der Kuijp
vanderk@fas.harvard.edu

Linguistics Department
C.-T. James Huang
ctjhuang@fas.harvard.edu

Mathematics Department
Mark Kisin
kisin@math.harvard.edu

Medical Sciences
David Cardozo
david_cardozo@hms.harvard.edu

Middle Eastern Studies Committee
Steven Caton
caton@fas.harvard.edu

Music Department
Kay Shelemay
shelemay@fas.harvard.edu

Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Malika Zeghal
mzeghal@fas.harvard.edu

Organizational Behavior Committee
John Korn
jkorn@hbs.edu

Philosophy Department
Mark Richard
richard4@fas.harvard.edu

Physics Department
Jacob Barandes
barandes@physics.harvard.edu

Physics Department
Mara Prentiss
prentiss@g.harvard.edu

Political Economy and Government
Robert Stavins
robert_stavins@harvard.edu

Population Health Sciences
Subu Subramanian
svsubram@hsph.harvard.edu

Psychology Department
Jesse Snedeker
snedeker@wjh.harvard.edu

Public Policy Committee
Robert Stavins
robert_stavins@harvard.edu

Regional Studies - East Asia Committee
Alexander Zahlten
azahlten@fas.harvard.edu

Regional Studies: Russia, E. Europe, Central Asia
Alexandra Vacroux
vacroux@fas.harvard.edu

Religion, Committee on the Study of
Catherine Brekus
cbrekus@hds.harvard.edu

Romance Languages and Literatures
Virginie Greene
vgreene@fas.harvard.edu

Slavic Languages and Literatures
Jonathan Bolton
jbolton@fas.harvard.edu

Social Policy
Devah Pager
devah_pager@harvard.edu

Social Policy
Theda Skocpol
skocpol@fas.harvard.edu

Sociology Department
Mario L. Small
mariosmall@fas.harvard.edu

South Asian Studies
Leonard van der Kuijp
vanderk@fas.harvard.edu

Statistics Department
Samuel Kou
kou@stat.harvard.edu

Statistics Department
Jun Liu
jliu@stat.harvard.edu

Systems Biology
Timothy Mitchison
timothy_mitchison@hms.harvard.edu

Systems Biology
Andrew Murray
amurray@mcb.harvard.edu